CIRM, Istituto Trentino di Cultura

PRIN Project "Calcolo delle Variazioni"


Fourth School on

Analysis and Geometry
in Metric Spaces

Trento, May 22-27, 2005



The aim of the school is to offer an outline of the present state of research
concerning geometric measure theory on Carnot-Caratheodory groups and on more general metric spaces. Analysis and Geometry on these structures has been object of extensive research in the last few years, with applications ranging from degenerate elliptic equations to optimal control theory and differential geometry.
It is intention of the organizers to put together young researchers and well-known researchers active in the field and to encourage informal discussion on current research trends and developments in the area.
Young researchers are encouraged to participate: it is possible to support some of them upon request.

The following speakers have agreed to give short courses:

- Andrei AGRACHEV (SISSA Trieste): "Abnormal Geodesics and Related Topics" [Abstr.] ,
- Zoltan BALOGH (Bern): "Definition and regularity of quasiconformal mappings in metric spaces”   [Abstr.],
- Bruce KLEINER (Ann Arbor): "Quasiconformal geometry of metric spaces: uniformization and rigidity” [Abstr.],
- Pierre PANSU (Paris Sud): "Submanifolds and differential forms in Carnot spaces" [Abstr.].


The school will take place in the conference hall of ITC-IRST in Povo, a couple of kilometres from the centre of Trento.
Participants will be lodged in a few hotels in Trento.



All interested persons in attending the school should send the Application Form before April 15, 2005 to:

Mr. Augusto Micheletti
Secretary of CIRM
Istituto Trentino di Cultura
38050 Povo (Trento), Italy
Fax 0039/0461/810629
Phone 0039/0461/881628


The first school of the series was held in Trento from 24 to 28 May 1999. The second one in Trento from 11 to 15 June 2001. The third one in Trento from 25 to 30 May 2003. For further info on these schools see the page "CIRM: 26 Years of Life 1979-2004".


    The Organizers:
    Luigi Ambrosio (Pisa)
    Bruno Franchi (Bologna)
    Raul Serapioni (Trento)
    Francesco Serra Cassano (Trento)